X Marks the Scot - An on-line community of kilt wearers.

X Marks Partners - (Go to the Partners Dedicated Forums )
USA Kilts website Celtic Croft website Celtic Corner website Houston Kiltmakers

User Tag List

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Daywear Sporran - leather finishing?

'Allo rabble!

I'm an amateur leatherworker (hobbyist, really) who's decided to put together a daywear sporran, mostly because most of the stuff I've seen for sale hasn't been of great quality, and what little I have seen that passes muster has been more than I'd like to pay when I'm pretty sure I can do about as well (I guess we'll see about that!)

So, I've patterned and I'm in the initial cutting/tooling stages, but I have a conundrum that some of you may be able to advise on. All of my previous leather projects I've finished with Atom Wax, as I prefer the luster and feel, and am comfortable with the application. However, none of my work has been worn next to an expensive fabric garment such as a kilt, not to mention exposed to the repeated contact friction that occurs with a sporran. I'm not sure if the finish is 1) up to the task of protecting the leather, and 2) free from transference to the fabric of the kilt.

Anyone have any experience with Atom Wax and tartan wool? Anyone have any preferred finishing for sporrans that meets the two criteria above?

Thanks in advance for your help and experience.

-Caleb

Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I'm not familiar with Atom Wax. Does it give you a shiny waxed surface like a shoe polish, or more of a soft finish? In your other projects where you have used it, does it hold up to wear and moisture?