X Marks the Scot - An on-line community of kilt wearers.

X Marks Partners - (Go to the Partners Dedicated Forums )
USA Kilts website Freedom Kilts website Scotweb websiten Burnetts and Struth website The Scottish Trading Company
Xmarks advertising information Celtic Croft website Xmarks advertising information Celtic Corner website Xmarks advertising information

User Tag List

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Historic Kilt Laundering

I have seen a lot of images of Highland regiments kilted at war. Even with the protective apron that was worn at times, I assume the kilts got rather dirty. Does anyone know how the kilts were laundered historically?

Isaac
    Vestis virum reddit

The Q is offline Oops, it seems this member needs to update their email address
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I'm not an expert on the military of WW1, but I know the troops were rotated from front line to the rear quite regularly.
    I doubt whether any real cleaning was achieved while on the front line, just a brush off of the mud if they ever got it dry.

But in the rear there were the full facilities of the time, I'm betting the Officers, had their staff clean the kilts.
    But the men will have had to clean the kilts themselves or put them through the primitive systems they had, which may have included boiling! (to kill the lice). Breweries , sugar factories and the like were commandeered, as they had heat and clean water to fumigate / clean the men and uniforms which were often ironed from the inside to kill more lice. Note an Iron of the time was a hot lump of metal heated on a fire which I can still remember being around though no longer used in the 1960s.
    There were also "mobile bath units" where other facilities were not available.
    A minor point is that the men did not have baths at home and a once a week bath was probably all many had, if that!.
    "We make a living by what we get, but we make a life by what we give"