X Marks the Scot - An on-line community of kilt wearers.

X Marks Partners - (Go to the Partners Dedicated Forums )
USA Kilts website Freedom Kilts website Scotweb websiten Burnetts and Struth website The Scottish Trading Company
Xmarks advertising information Celtic Croft website Xmarks advertising information Celtic Corner website Xmarks advertising information

User Tag List

Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Feedback from a newbie here.

I have very much enjoyed my short time here and particularly reading all the “back issues” of old threads, many of which are fascinating. And reading through all of these old threads gives a revealing insight into the development and structure of this site as it exists today.
    Now we have a small coterie of long-standing contributors who all actively share their opinions and who, without exception, are immune to anything except their particular views. Then we have a more erudite group who combine kilt-wearing with study of published data and, for this group their dogma is written down and immutable. Finally we have new members, some of whom have previous kilt-wearing knowledge and others who come simply seeking knowledge and, more importantly, encouragement.
    Those with existing knowledge appear to meet a degree of resentment, as if their views have no value compared to those who hold the keys to all kilt-wearing wisdom, particularly when these have a “highland” cachet attached to them as if the “highlands” exists as some fabled nirvana where all kilt wisdom resides and where no dissent is allowed. Then we have new members who, provided they do not overstep the accepted norms of highland dress are quietly indulged and most of whom disappear after a short time when it becomes apparent that any contributions they may have the temerity to make are quickly disparaged by the “establishment” jealous of their position as the arbiters of all that is “correct”.