X Marks the Scot - An on-line community of kilt wearers.

X Marks Partners - (Go to the Partners Dedicated Forums )
USA Kilts website Celtic Croft website Celtic Corner website Houston Kiltmakers

User Tag List

Thread: kilt pins

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

kilt pins

I'm new to the kilt world and learning as much as i can just about everything cuz i'm in the research stage of making a kilt

i've heard many people talk about a kilt pin and that it's work on the lower corner of the front apron? the place i read this mentioned that it's used to weigh down the apron, but the pics i've seen they so small so is it really put through both aprons and held down that way?

anyone who would like to enlighten me more about this would be great

kitty

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    When used correctly, the kilt pin is supposed to be placed through the outter/front apron ONLY. The pin should be of a decent weight so as to be effective.

Many people (myself included) don't often use a kilt pin though.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Talking

I do use a kilt pin, as for me is the perfect final touch for a trad. kilt. ONLY used on the front apron, to allow the kilt to open when u seat, or maybe you can provoke a disaster on the fabric! Regarding the weight, well, as you said, they're not too big or heavy, but they just add a slight extra weight to keep the apron down. There are others heavier, but I never felt the necessity of having my "privacy" secured by a kilt pin. If wind makes ur apron look for ur nose, then no kilt pin will help to avoid it!

¡Salud!

T O N O

Clinton, South Carolina (USA)-> Atlanta native
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)