X Marks the Scot - An on-line community of kilt wearers.

X Marks Partners - (Go to the Partners Dedicated Forums )
USA Kilts website Celtic Croft website Celtic Corner website Houston Kiltmakers

User Tag List

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

self-taught pipes?

OK, I've been wanting to learn the pipes. I really can't get a tutor (I'm kind of strapped for cash right now), but I think I can get atleast a PC and book.

I was wondering if it's possible to learn the pipes without an actual tutor.

The best deal I've had for learning pipes was at place about 40 mins away, but I don't think I can make that.

JS Sanders is offline Oops, it seems this member needs to update their email address
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Many instructors won't accept students who have gone the self-taught route. You'll have learned much incorrectly and have even more to unlearn and relearn. Self-pipers play in a style that properly trained pipers can easily detect.

Find a way to get to an instructor or wait until you can. Probably not what you wanted to hear, but you'll be a better piper for it someday.

40 mins distance is very near. I know pipers who have instructors literally hours away.

Slainte,
    steve

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I am a self taught musician for the few instruments that I know. I do not know the pipes yet but I also was planning on buying a practice chanter here soon and self teaching myself. I cannot read music, so I'm usually forced to learn by hearing alone and I'm actually really good at it.

They didn't have sheet music for thousands of years so I figure it's natural to play by ear.

However I'm sure JS Sanders knows more about this topic in regards to pipes and he may be right regarding a difference in style from a self taught/ instructor taught piper.

I saw go for it personally.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)