X Marks the Scot - An on-line community of kilt wearers.

X Marks Partners - (Go to the Partners Dedicated Forums )
USA Kilts website Celtic Croft website Celtic Corner website Houston Kiltmakers

User Tag List

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Kops in Kilts

Tim B is offline Oops, it seems this member needs to update their email address
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Kops in Kilts

I am a police officer and only recently became "kilted". Obviously, I'm not able to wear a kilt while at work. 9 months out of the year I am the School Resource Officer. During the summer months I work patrol.

We are a small department (6 officers INCLUDING the Chief) so in the summer time, I'm just an extra body. The other day my Chief and I were discussing the possibility of me working bike patrol during my summer months of duty. I asked him if I could wear an all black kilt. He paused for a moment...blinked a couple of times (he knows that I occasionally wear a kilt)...then said, "You'd want to wear bike shorts, wouldn't you?" I wasn't sure it that was really a question, or a suggestion in question form. Just after that, we got interrupted and havn't had time to continue the discussion since. I'll keep you updated.

This also got me to wondering: How many of my kilted bretheren on this forum are part of the "Bretheren in Blue", and other than pipe band or honor guard, is there any other occasion when you are authorized to don a kilt?

Tim B.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I'm in State Law Enforcement here in South Carolina, but no 'authorized' kilt wearing going on. I tell you, with the way state budget is being slashed, at this point, I'm just happy to still be employed. I think I'll wait until after things settle down to start pushing my AIC to let me wear a kilt on special occasions or 'casual' days.

Stay Safe,

Casey

Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)