X Marks the Scot - An on-line community of kilt wearers.

X Marks Partners - (Go to the Partners Dedicated Forums )
USA Kilts website Celtic Croft website Celtic Corner website Houston Kiltmakers

User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Modified bagpipe?

Please don't hate me for even asking about this!.

Would it be total heresy to make something to play that would not use a bagepipe chanter but still have a "chanter" and "drones"? Would I be chased down and stoned?

My beloved has tried to get me to learn the fingering on a bagpipe chanter but my fingers just do NOT like playing straight. They cramp, ALOT!
    I have some background in playing a recorder, and when playing around with youtube I came across several references to people creating bagpipe like instruments with recorders as the chanter and drone(s). Perhaps a tin whistle would work. I also saw some that made them with straws as the chanter and drones! to my untrained ear they did not sound so bad.

My other problem is I take 3 deep breaths and I get light headed. May need to get a bellows system going.

What do you think? Would it be possible? Would it even sound good? If I DO manage to make one, what key should it be in?

Julie

P.S. he does not know I am even trying to make this thing yet. I wanted to supprise him.
    Last edited by LadyGriffin; 31st January 10 at 09:21 PM. Reason: re-wording text

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I would think that it would be way too difficult to control the air pressure with a recorder since it has a much easier air flow than a bagpipe reed. you wouldn't hardly have to touch the bag to set it off whistling. You're probably better off leaving the bags to the reed instruments.

(unless of course you want recorder drones... but I really don't know why you would want recorder drones...)

Salt Lake City, Utah, United States of America
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)