X Marks the Scot - An on-line community of kilt wearers.

X Marks Partners - (Go to the Partners Dedicated Forums )
USA Kilts website Celtic Croft website Celtic Corner website Houston Kiltmakers

User Tag List

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Here comes the king's

well i have expressed interest in my heritage...finally haha.

My grandmothers last name is much more interesting of a name then my own. which is Pierce and to what i believe is scotish. My Grandmothers father was a King. MUCH more interesting lol. so i decided to start with my irish side as far as geneology goes.

first off i am new to this as of this week hehe. a scots friend of mine told me to come here, though i do not know if he is registered. anywho. how do i go about finding which clan i fall under. I am aware, if not mistaken, that King is of irish decent.

any help would be amazing. and also how do i go about actually trying to do a geneology on my family.

King

Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The goal to Genealogical research is an unbroken paper trail.

You start with your parents. Find their marriage license. This will give you information like full names, dates and places of birth, etc.

Then you go back, one piece of paper at a time. You find your mother and fathers birth certificates which give you your four grandparents names.

Back another generation. You look for birth, death, marriage certificates, Census records, draft registrations, Parish or church records.

It is a long and exhausting process to even work your family back just four or five generations. But what fun. It's like the ultimate treasure hunt or mystery story. One clue leads to another, and another.

One good source is Ancestry.com which is a subscription site. They publish things like census records for N. America, Draft Registration and voter registration records. They are beginning to post ship passenger logs too.