X Marks the Scot - An on-line community of kilt wearers.

X Marks Partners - (Go to the Partners Dedicated Forums )
USA Kilts website Celtic Croft website Celtic Corner website Houston Kiltmakers

User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Lost in the States, need to get back to Europe
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

What kind of shirt to wear with a kilt

Hi, I'm fairly new to the kilt scene. I was wondering when wearing your kilt to a semi-formal event, what shirt would you wear?

Right now I have a grad banquet coming up and I plan on wearing my kilt.I was planning on wearing a normal white button down with my royal stewart(closes I could find to the Bruce clan) sports kilt.

I'm not planning on wearing a tie so do you think this will look alright?

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Re: What kind of shirt to wear with a kilt

Quote Originally Posted by TweedertheScot
    Right now I have a grad banquet coming up and I plan on wearing my kilt.I was planning on wearing a normal white button down with my royal stewart(closes I could find to the Bruce clan) sports kilt.

It should look fine.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Hi, I'm fairly new to the kilt scene. I was wondering when wearing your kilt to a semi-formal event, what shirt would you wear?

Why no tie???

blu

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I would wear a Vest/Wasit Coat also.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Plain white shirt with any kilt should be fine. In fact, a plain dress shirt, of any colour that compliments those in the kilt is also fine.

The you can formalise it with a wing collar and black bow tie. Add a vest/waistcoat, or treat yourself to a shortie jacket of some description.

Jacobites also look good, but a bit costume-like which I know puts a lot of guys off.