X Marks the Scot - An on-line community of kilt wearers.

X Marks Partners - (Go to the Partners Dedicated Forums )
USA Kilts website Celtic Croft website Celtic Corner website Houston Kiltmakers

User Tag List

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

How to start learning the Scottish Small Pipes

Hi, all! I would like to learn to play the Scottish small pipes. Should I start out by getting a highland pipes practice chanter or is there some other kind of chanter that I should get instead? I have been trying to research this online but as a complete newbie I am finding it hard to understand where to start. Thanks for your help!

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi,

A highland pipes practise chanter will serve you perfectly well. The chanter on the SSP differs very little from a practise chanter. Both are straight bore and have very similar finger spacings.

There are two major differences between playing SSP and GHB (Great Highland Bagpipes) and those are the bellows (should you choose a bellows set), and playing style.

Bellows SSP are in my opinion by far the best. Probably the simplest way of practising the bellows is just to wait until you purchase your actual SSP and practise blowing a steady low 'A' over and over, resisting the temptation to burst into a tune. Do this lots, for a looooong time.

As for playing style, it's perfectly possible to play tunes in GHB style, but SSP are associated* with the lowland and borders piping tradition, which uses simpler grace notation.

I recommend "The Master Piper - Nine Notes That Shook The World"

http://www.bagpipesociety.org.uk/the...ook-the-world/

and the Lowland and Borders Piping Society (LBPS)

http://lbps.net/lbps/index.php

Here's my SSP, made by E.J. Jones in Texas.

*The Scottish Smallpipes in their modern form are actually a recent invention, created in the 1980s but based on earlier examples dating back several centuries.