X Marks the Scot - An on-line community of kilt wearers.

X Marks Partners - (Go to the Partners Dedicated Forums )
USA Kilts website Celtic Croft website Celtic Corner website Houston Kiltmakers

User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Evolution of the Modern Kilt

A friend of mine is of the understanding that "the modern kilt derived from the Great Kilt being cut in two as a result of the heat in the Carolinas when the Highland Regiments took part in the French Indian War circa 1758." I am no expert but I have never heard of such a statement or claim. I doubt its veracity and it certainly is contrary to what I have understood. Has anyone else ever heard of this?

Mentioned
    15 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thats certainly a new slant on things as far as I know.
    " Rules are for the guidance of wise men and the adherence of idle minds and minor tyrants". Field Marshal Lord Slim.

3. The Following 2 Users say 'Aye' to Jock Scot For This Useful Post:

Mentioned
    14 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    This is a variation on the story that the kilt was 'invented' by an Englishman named Rawlinson who ran the Glengarry Iron Smelter in the early 1730s.

Not only are there are earlier images showing the feileadh beag but the basic story demonstrates a lack of undrstanding of how 18th century plaids were made. In short, the single width material had to be joined in the first place in order to made a plaid. It doesn't require much though simply not to join the two lengths in the first place. Social-economic changes towards the end of the 17th century are much more likely to have been the catalyst for the development of the feileadh beag than anyone 'inventing' it.

5. The Following 7 Users say 'Aye' to figheadair For This Useful Post:

Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)