X Marks the Scot - An on-line community of kilt wearers.

X Marks Partners - (Go to the Partners Dedicated Forums )
USA Kilts website Celtic Croft website Celtic Corner website Houston Kiltmakers

User Tag List

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Prince Charles Jacket in the Making

I'm a professional Seamstress and this is my first attempt at making a Prince Charlie. I've made a kilt before, as well as vests, and suit coats but nothing like this. I will be using the folklore pattern to make it. I've got two clients who are interested in having one made.

So far I have gotten 3 different UK companies sending me wool swatches for the coat, as well as swatches from a silkbarron for the lapel fabric. The notions will be ordered from cleanersupply company, and B Black and sons. I found a company called Tartan Town out of Canada to get the buttons from for $1.25 each, but on another form I saw Pipers cove, Highland Press, and Three feathers Pewter. Considering one client is going all out with $50/ yard wool, I don't' want to put cheap buttons on the suit HOWEVER I also don't want to put him in the poor house for 25 buttons at $5 each either.

Your encouragement and assistance would be greatly appreciated. BTW I have yet to see a good Pattern review on the Folklore pattern, if know of one, please send it my way. Thank you.

Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I don't have anything much to add other than that I'll be following along with interest. I make costumes and kilts for highland dancers, and we have a few male dancers in our region - PC jackets can be hard to come by and there's been some interest in seeing if I can make them.