X Marks the Scot - An on-line community of kilt wearers.

X Marks Partners - (Go to the Partners Dedicated Forums )
USA Kilts website Celtic Croft website Celtic Corner website Houston Kiltmakers

User Tag List

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

leather selection for kilt

i am thinking about makeing a leather kilt. has anyone made one with heavy leather like for a motorcycle jacket? i have a thin leather from pakistan that i like and the ladies love. also what are people sealing the leather with? my current leather is bleeding die everywhere and ive been wearing it for 4 months 2 times a week. any advise on the making of leather kilt is appreciated as ive never made any clothing or even used a sewing machine. i have one that does canvas and leather. or would saddle stitch for everything be better? thanks to all.

Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    If you don't know how to sew then making a kilt from leather isn't a good place to start. Watch some videos and read some tutorials about basic sewing. Make some simple projects. Read the X Kilt manual and make a kilt or ten out of fabric. Learn about making leather garments. See if Robert from R Kilts will share a bit of information with you. Then tackle a leather kilt.

If you jump right in at the deep end I can practically guarantee it won't end well.
    Cheers!
    Bob

3. The Following User Says 'Aye' to ratspike For This Useful Post:

Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Sewing (by hand or machine) of heavy material requires practice. The members that usually do heavy fabrics can discuss seams, thread weight and folds better than I can. I recommend studying the joints of other products (jeans, sails or leather chaps) for comparisons. This will give you an idea how the finished kilt will be seen by the public.