X Marks the Scot - An on-line community of kilt wearers.

X Marks Partners - (Go to the Partners Dedicated Forums )
USA Kilts website Celtic Croft website Celtic Corner website Houston Kiltmakers

User Tag List

Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Is it ok...

Mentioned
    14 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Is it ok...

Hello all. I am a noob in the kilted world and i am trying to get everything in order. I purchased my first (only one at this time) kilt in black watch. I have ecru, black, oatmeal and bottle green hose. A new charcoal grey waistcoat, black shoes, and black sporran.

My question- is it ok or acceptable to go out without a jacket? I have not purchased one yet but am planning on a charcoal grey tweed. Until that day comes- my outfit will be very casual (polos/ tshirts), sweater, or button up and tie, or button up/ tie and waistcoat.

I wont be going to any functions that are black tie but more like dinner dayes with the wife. I want to look good and be comfortable but at the same time i want to be a good kilted example.

I have thumbed through so many threads but none really address my question. I also looked at the 1 kilt 10 looks thread.
    Any guidance would be appreciated!

And yes i am trying to fight the matchy matchy look! But the bottle green gose look great with the black watch!

Montgomery Village, Maryland, near Washington, District of Columbia
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The best advice I can give is to treat the kilt as just how you cover your lower half. If the occasion would require a jacket with trousers, wear a jacket with your kilt. If not, don't worry about it.
    Geoff Withnell

"My comrades, they did never yield, for courage knows no bounds."
    No longer subject to reveille US Marine.

3. The Following 8 Users say 'Aye' to Geoff Withnell For This Useful Post:

Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)