X Marks the Scot - An on-line community of kilt wearers.

X Marks Partners - (Go to the Partners Dedicated Forums )
USA Kilts website Celtic Croft website Celtic Corner website Houston Kiltmakers

User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Thumbs down Tool Recommendation

Hi Barb

I realize step 1 is reading cover to cover TAoK. I will handle that bit of business shortly. I also plan to attend kilt camp 2020 for my 60th birthday. I understand that I can hand sew a kilt. I’m an absolute novice, but will tend to that matter in the coming weeks. Hand sewing seems a bit daunting as I struggle with my finger joints, sometimes swear my ukulele hates me, so I will likely use a sewing machine where possible, and hand sew where necessary. Now the question:

1. Can you offer sewing machine recommendations? I have a singer with lots of plastic (cheap) construction. I understand that a kilt is a labor of love, and purchasing one, expensive (ask me how I know ... and worth every penny. So I likewise understand that I want a good quality, all metal machine. Can you tell me brand(s) you would recommend, possible equipment like you use. I don’t want to fight a machine that cannot handle easily 16 oz tartan wool, or properly execute the required stitches.

Your recommendation is greatly appreciated.

-John

Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi John,

First, whether you read the book cover to cover depends on how your brain works. Some people love to pour over instructions ahead of time so that they know where they're going; other people find the prospect intimidating. Either works just fine. There's no reason that you have to read it start to finish, and many people (maybe even most) just take each step as it comes. Everyone winds up with a kilt at the end!