X Marks the Scot - An on-line community of kilt wearers.

X Marks Partners - (Go to the Partners Dedicated Forums )
USA Kilts website Celtic Croft website Celtic Corner website Houston Kiltmakers

User Tag List

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Law in UK regarding the sgian-dubh

For my birthday my daughter bought* me a genuine sgian-dubh but I'm wondering how often I'll get to wear it?
    Its new and although it does not have a sharp edge it does however have a very sharp point!
    She paid quite a bit of money for it, even got it engraved so I'm hoping to wear it on most occasions when I'm kilted but I'm thinking this might be a problem and possibly illegal!!

Can I ask what experiences other UK forum members have had when wearing a genuine sgian-dubh?

Mentioned
    15 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I have worn the kilt and with it a sharp Sgian-Dubh(SD) for nearly four score years in Scotland with never a problem with the police. I am no lawyer, however, an SD(not any old knife) is regarded as National Attire when worn with the kilt and therefore can be worn quite legally. Common sense is required though, particularly as knife crime is, as you no doubt know, a major concern to all thinking people within the UK at present so, wave it about in public at your peril and think where you are going with it and YES, there are times and places where we all now have to consider the wisdom of carrying one. There are alternatives if you really cant bare to be without something stuck in you hose, such as Sgian-Brew. A fancy handle with a bottle opener instead of a blade. In truth though, you are not making a faux pas by not wearing anything in your hose top.
    " Rules are for the guidance of wise men and the adherence of idle minds and minor tyrants". Field Marshal Lord Slim.

3. The Following 7 Users say 'Aye' to Jock Scot For This Useful Post:

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)