X Marks the Scot - An on-line community of kilt wearers.

X Marks Partners - (Go to the Partners Dedicated Forums )
USA Kilts website Celtic Croft website Celtic Corner website Houston Kiltmakers

User Tag List

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Question Lanolin as a treatment for woollen kilts?

Hi, Newbie here. Got my first kilt in the 80's. Married in it.

if we can assume, back in the day, that great kilts that used only natural colours of sheep available, or rather muted colours that they would have Lanolin in them?

Note:- As an ex RN guy used submariners polo-neck jumpers, rather scratchy, then not dyed, and full of natural lanolin I assume. Used them as kinda like wet suit tops when canoeing in the Kyles of Lochalsh and later at Rhu Point. Used to flip over with goggles to enjoy the underwater beauty. Then flip back up. cold the first time but after that was great.

1. Assuming that early kilts were functional, they would have natural Lanolin still within the wool.

Then:

2. Using products like Eucalan say every 10 years or so would help refresh and maintain kilts.

Would you agree? Or maybe other thoughts? Just about to purchase some, but dont want to waste my time...
    Rick Johnston, Ian Richard - Caskieben Johnston in Brantford, ONTARIO, Canada. >2000.

Mentioned
    13 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Experiment

Quote Originally Posted by Sneet View Post
    Hi, Newbie here. Got my first kilt in the 80's. Married in it.

if we can assume, back in the day, that great kilts that used only natural colours of sheep available, or rather muted colours that they would have Lanolin in them?