X Marks the Scot - An on-line community of kilt wearers.

X Marks Partners - (Go to the Partners Dedicated Forums )
USA Kilts website Celtic Croft website Celtic Corner website Houston Kiltmakers

User Tag List

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Newbie Intro and Gold Buttons

Hi all,

I am a newbie (at 72 LOL) who is trying to connect back to my Celtic Heritage (Irish). Back in my day immigrants were trying to assimilate and I, like a bunch of others in my generation, really didn't identify with Celtic things, other than, green beer, perhaps?

I think the Scots have done much better at preserving traditions than we Irish have. At any rate I have started a Celtic Club in my community for all Celts and I have begun wearing the kilt more frequently. So comfortable, who knew? LOL

I have also accumulated a range of kilts and jackets. They all have silver (pewter) buttons.

I have searched the forums for 'gold buttons' and found some replies and opinions but mostly about brass, not gold.

I have hung around the forums long enough to know that there are a lot of diverse opinions (strong ;) )from strict traditionalists to 'wear it if you want it' proponents.

So excuse me if I missed something, but, here is my question(s). Why silver buttons? and why square/diamond? Is it a faux pas to use some nice gold(tone) buttons round or square. Would gold (classy, subdued) buttons be an acceptable personal expression on say a Sherrifmuir/PC for formal affairs? Or also instead of horn/leather on a tweed argyle.

Thanks in advance for comments or links to forum topics/stickies I may have missed.

Jim

Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Lehane View Post
    Hi all,