X Marks the Scot - An on-line community of kilt wearers.

X Marks Partners - (Go to the Partners Dedicated Forums )
USA Kilts website Celtic Croft website Celtic Corner website Houston Kiltmakers

User Tag List

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Making kilt and breechcloth for Choctaw/Scotch-Irish boyfriend

Hello -

I hope this subject is acceptable for this forum. I am new to all this.

My boyfriend is Choctaw Indian and Scotch-Irish. His dad was Choctaw and his mom was Scotch-Irish - He was born on the reservation but his mom took him to live for a year in Scotland with her family and he also visited there frequently.

As part of a large Martin Luther King celebration tomorrow he is supposed to be performing traditional indian dancing with two different native groups. Unfortunately, it appears that the box of his traditional breechcloths have been lost after a recent move we did.

My idea was to make new breechcloths using Scotch-Irish plaid material. That way his traditional Coctaw breechcloths would also give respect to being half Scotch-Irish. Apparently when he was young his mom made several breechcloths from the plaid material and the tribal groups approved. The pictures I have seen of them look good. I bought fabric for this yesterday.

I wanted to take this a step further and try to make combination single garments that were both Kilts AND breechcloth. Again I would use the plaid material and make a normal breechcloth with the fabric hanging down from the front and rear of his waist. The I would have optional fabric that would attach to the sides to turn the breechcloth into a kilt when needed/wanted.

I am frantically trying to get all this done tonite and have it be good enough that no "wardrobe accident" occurs - wouldn't be good to have a naked native dancing on the stage for MLK!