X Marks the Scot - An on-line community of kilt wearers.

X Marks Partners - (Go to the Partners Dedicated Forums )
USA Kilts website Celtic Croft website Celtic Corner website Houston Kiltmakers

User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Mentioned
    17 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

first time kilted in 2 months

The 15th and 16th of February were our first Highland Games and pipe band contest of the year. Naturally I spent all weekend kilted.

Little did any of us in the band know at the time that it would be our last.

The next weekend I had a funeral to pipe at. Cancelled.

The next weekend after that were the Phoenix Highland Games. Cancelled.

The next weekend was the one leading up to St Patrick's Day. There were gigs on the 12th, 14th, 15th, and 17th, all cancelled but one, the small house party on the 17th I've been doing for 20 years, one of four gigs I was to do that day. (The house-party gig is solo and non-kilted.)

And so it went through April, gig after gig, funerals and weddings and the Bakersfield Games and the Las Vegas Games all cancelled.

Imagine how nice it felt, sad though the occasion was, to pipe at a funeral today. It was the first time I had put on kilts, and the first time I had played the pipes, since February 16th.

(The kilt still fit, despite the stay-at-home-spread. The only mishap was putting on one of my socks inside out.)
    Last edited by OC Richard; 6th May 20 at 07:40 PM.
    Proud Mountaineer from the Highlands of West Virginia; son of the Revolution and Civil War; first Europeans on the Guyandotte

2. The Following 6 Users say 'Aye' to OC Richard For This Useful Post:

Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Im glad it fit, OC; you know, Panda bears eat 12 hours a day. Thats why this is called a Pandemic.