X Marks the Scot - An on-line community of kilt wearers.

X Marks Partners - (Go to the Partners Dedicated Forums )
USA Kilts website Celtic Croft website Celtic Corner website Houston Kiltmakers

User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Bit of help on what to work for?

So, my best friend (who got me into wearing kilts, even if very casually) heartily recommends USA kilts. I’m still very new to all this kilt stuff and looked up what they offer.

I’m currently struggling on which to buy next. I currently have a Sport Kilt, and I enjoy walking around the neighborhood with it the couple times I wore it out, and I think a kilt looks alright with my usual boots and leather jacket combo. I also enjoy a lot of the movement offered versus plain shorts, especially (probably weird to here) when it comes to stretches and working out. Kilts seem so much more fun, and I’d like to wear them more often and make them more my common wear as well. Goodness knows I need some other bottom outside of jeans.

From my understanding, the Casual and Semi-traditional Kilts are machine washable (or at least implied to be) and affordable enough to begin getting a few for daily wear. How different are they, however? Is there a difference in quality or longevity? Would both be good options for what I intend to wear them for?

This is already lengthy, I feel, but would the 5 yard wool kilt also be good for my purposes? Alas, that also means dry cleaning more often, hmm. But, apparently, they’re weightier and help with winter warmth and wind according to my friend. I do not know how wool would feel in Texas humidity or summer weather lol.

But anyway, thanks for takin’ a look at my very newbie questions, aha!

Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Since you already have a "cheapy" to wear when your kilt would be in danger, the wool kilt will rarely need to be cleaned, so that's not much of an issue.