X Marks the Scot - An on-line community of kilt wearers.

X Marks Partners - (Go to the Partners Dedicated Forums )
USA Kilts website Celtic Croft website Celtic Corner website Houston Kiltmakers

User Tag List

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Any experience with Clan.com casual kilts?

It's a new year, and I find myself starting to plan for another kilt or two for regular, casual rotation.

I was browsing Clan.com, and noticed their very reasonable price one 5-yard kilts, both tartan and tweed, of about $200. USA Kilts offers a 5-yard model (I am quite pleased with mine), but it starts at $299 and goes up if you're a person of any size, such as myself.

I'm thinking of trying a tweed, or perhaps a muted tartan.

Have you tried Clan.com's kilts? How do you like it? Do you happen to have a pleat shot?

Mentioned
    39 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I have no experience with them, but they are an advertiser here and offer a 10% discount to X-Marks members.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Wareyin View Post
    I have no experience with them, but they are an advertiser here and offer a 10% discount to X-Marks members.
    Shucks, I've made two orders recently (for small items, no kilts) and missed that discount code. Next time!

Mentioned
    7 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    My first real wool kilt was a Scotweb casual kilt. The price is certainly attractive. Not wanting to wear it low-waisted (like jeans), I gave them measurements so that it would fall to my knee when worn at my actual waist (just below the ribs).

Pros: quality tartan material (I got a lightweight 11 oz. fabric, since I was in Florida at the time and trying to be thrifty), sturdy (but not fancy) hardware, nicely pleated to the sett. Less fabric and lightweight tartan means it is wonderfully cool to wear in the summer or tropical climates.