X Marks the Scot - An on-line community of kilt wearers.

X Marks Partners - (Go to the Partners Dedicated Forums )
USA Kilts website Celtic Croft website Celtic Corner website Houston Kiltmakers

User Tag List

Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Hamish Moore's thoughts on piping and dancing

2. The Following 6 Users say 'Aye' to neloon For This Useful Post:

Mentioned
    15 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I am no musician, but as a consumer, so to speak, on occasion, I cannot help but feel that he does have a point.
    " Rules are for the guidance of wise men and the adherence of idle minds and minor tyrants". Field Marshal Lord Slim.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It's the old technician vs. performer dichotomy. Something else to think about: I know folks who don't normally listen to bagpipe music but love Clanadonia because of how much general "fun" they add to it.

Mentioned
    17 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Most of that article is familiar stuff one hears all the time from people outwith the competition scene. The difference here being the eminence of the person saying it.

People not in the Highland piping scene might not know how common such talk is. However it generally comes from pipers and pipe bands of the very lowest level, and other musicians who haven't spent time in the Highland piping competition world and are therefore unfamiliar with it. (I hope nobody comes along and twists my words to say things I didn't say. I've chosen my words carefully.)