X Marks the Scot - An on-line community of kilt wearers.

X Marks Partners - (Go to the Partners Dedicated Forums )
USA Kilts website Celtic Croft website Celtic Corner website Houston Kiltmakers

User Tag List

Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Basket hilt sword if of unknown origin

Today I took delivery of a basket hilt sword that I bought on an online action (not eBay). I am very happy with the purchase, given what I paid, but would be interested in finding out what I have. The blade is not sharp and the tip is blunt, which is fine with me. I can't think of any modern situation where a sharpened sword would be a good thing to have. Plus, I have grandchildren visiting the house. There appear to be temper lines so this looks like a folded steel blade, which is a surprise to me for a blunted blade. (I am a Kung Fu teacher and own a few Chinese swords, so I am familiar with real sword making techniques.) I had assumed I was buying a modern copy. The hilt is brass with a leather lining. The scabbard is chrome plated metal with 2 loops for attaching to baldric clips. The tip of the scabbard is somewhat unique (see link). I've had trouble posting pictures, but I did find the identical sword in a link (below), but I could not find any links that identify.

Have you seen a sword like this? Any idea what it is? I will also try to post pictures after I clean it up. It has some rust and looks like it sat unattended for a while. I've seen worse?

https://www.worthpoint.com/worthoped...ined-404873378

Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Looks to be an Indian or Pakistan made sword.

3. The Following 2 Users say 'Aye' to Luke MacGillie For This Useful Post:

Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)