X Marks the Scot - An on-line community of kilt wearers.

X Marks Partners - (Go to the Partners Dedicated Forums )
USA Kilts website Celtic Croft website Celtic Corner website Houston Kiltmakers

User Tag List

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Custom Tartan Kilt Pin

Okay, it's not exactly a pin, but it does the same thing. I'm still rocking the DNKE I bought a while back. This past weekend in the 95 degree weather I finally broke out the kilt for the summer. I live out of town and it tends to get windy in the afternoons and evenings. With my front apron blowing up and all around, something Rocky&Eric talked about was magnetic kilt pins. They won't damage the material if they get snagged and a magnet could be attached to anything. I'm a machinist apprentice at work and I own a mini manual mill so I can make a wide range of things from raw metal. I thought my black utilikilt could use a little color and I thought a Elliott Modern pin would be a fun project.

IMG_7307.jpg

IMG_7310.JPG

IMG_7309.JPG

IMG_7308.JPG

IMG_7306.JPG

IMG_7311.JPG

I will follow up with the finished product, painted and glued to together.

See in the last picture, I rep my tartan everywhere I drive with my pickup. Not that I many people would understand. But it's fun, and it makes her a little more mine.
    Last edited by MrScott; 4th June 21 at 07:00 PM.

2. The Following 2 Users say 'Aye' to MrScott For This Useful Post:

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I like the idea of a magnetic kilt pin and am interested to see where this goes.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Finished!