X Marks the Scot - An on-line community of kilt wearers.

X Marks Partners - (Go to the Partners Dedicated Forums )
USA Kilts website Celtic Croft website Celtic Corner website Houston Kiltmakers

User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

My Arms and Heraldic Items

My arms rendering

Another rendering of my arms with a sideways helm

My heraldic flag

My armiger items with my Highland attire

Last edited by Nathan; 14th October 21 at 03:04 PM.
    Natan Easbaig Mac Dhòmhnaill, FSA Scot
    Past High Commissioner, Clan Donald Canada
    “Yet still the blood is strong, the heart is Highland, And we, in dreams, behold the Hebrides.” - The Canadian Boat Song.

2. The Following 13 Users say 'Aye' to Nathan For This Useful Post:

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I am completely new to heraldry and symbols of rank in highland dress. Can you please explain the various items and their meanings, i.e. the significance of your arms, what a single feather means, etc.?

I could give you an entire book on the various symbolism and uniform significance for the US Marines, but European heraldry? I haven’t a clue.

Best,

John

Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Recon1342 View Post
    I am completely new to heraldry and symbols of rank in highland dress. Can you please explain the various items and their meanings, i.e. the significance of your arms, what a single feather means, etc.?

I could give you an entire book on the various symbolism and uniform significance for the US Marines, but European heraldry? I haven’t a clue.

Best,

John
    Hi John,

There's actually a lot to your question.

My personal arms are based on my chief's arms, but are differenced as I'm an indeterminate cadet of Clanranald.

ARMORIAL BEARINGS OF RANALD ALEXANDER MACDONALD OF CLANRANALD,
    24TH CAPTAIN AND CHIEF OF CLANRANALD