X Marks the Scot - An on-line community of kilt wearers.

X Marks Partners - (Go to the Partners Dedicated Forums )
USA Kilts website Celtic Croft website Celtic Corner website Houston Kiltmakers

User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Belted Kilt questions

I am very new to kilts. I own 2 modern kilts, an US Air Force and McLaren. I got into kilts dude to a scottish buddy. My closest and only scottish relative was a great Grandma from Fife named Low. Research told me Low is the McLaren tartan but as lowlanders does it matter. Anyway on to my question. I want to explore the great or belted kilt. I want to use it as a blanket on my bed in winter, use it camping/hunting for warmth. As well as maybe for some ren fairs. So would a great/belted kilt work for this? Would I ruin it leaving it on my bed during winter? Also which tartan the McLaren for my family or US Air Force as I am retired. Thanks for the help.

Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I have used lengths of woollen fabric as bedding when camping and as long as you have a clear bed space it should be fine.
    I wash the bedding in the bath on returning home and get it clean and dry before it is stored away. Even the year when all three lots of bedding were saturated by the time I returned home, the experience did no damage.
    Wool is able to absorb moisture and still feel warm, so even when I arrived back in camp wet though I slept warm and dry.
    I do not use the fabric as a great kilt though, I much prefer a small kilt and plaid.
    Having made myself a great kilt I found that in a modern setting it caught on everything, door and drawer handles in particular. It swept things off shelves and was very quickly converted into a dressing gown.