X Marks the Scot - An on-line community of kilt wearers.

X Marks Partners - (Go to the Partners Dedicated Forums )
USA Kilts website Celtic Croft website Celtic Corner website Houston Kiltmakers

User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

New Member from Maryland

Hi all, I'm Sean and I live in Laurel, MD, USA (in the Baltimore-Washington corridor) with my wife, two sons (ages 4 and not-quite-2) and our three cats. I'm a web developer by trade, but I've worn a lot of hats including eight years as a cook in the Indiana Army National Guard, eight years in musical instrument retail management, and even five years as a yoga teacher. I'm a big fan of nerd/pop culture, including comic book movies and Star Wars, and my hobbies include playing music—I've played guitar for about twenty years and sang in a rock band for a number of years—board games, homebrewing mead and cider, and making art.

My kilt journey began four or five years ago at the MD Renaissance Festival when I purchased a Black Watch great kilt from a regionally local kiltmaker called Wolfstone Kilts. Since then, I've worn rented kilts for black-tie-optional holiday parties for my wife's work for the past couple years (discounting 2020). This year, I purchased my own kilt, another Black Watch, and am looking forward to building out the rest of a wardrobe around it. The next kilts I'd like to add to the collection are US Army and MacFarlane (my wife's family tartan).

I unfortunately don't have a lot of good genealogical records for most of my family, as three of my four grandparents and at least one great-grandparent were adopted, but a DNA test revealed about 80% ancestry from the Celtic Isles in aggregate and about a quarter from Scotland specifically. I'd love to find some resources that might help me in my search to find the Mystery Scots in my bloodline.

I'm happy to be here, and can't wait to join in the discussion!

Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged