X Marks the Scot - An on-line community of kilt wearers.

X Marks Partners - (Go to the Partners Dedicated Forums )
USA Kilts website Celtic Croft website Celtic Corner website Houston Kiltmakers

User Tag List

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Fly Plaids

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Fly Plaids

This is my first post, and I'll admit I'm a bit lost. I saw a post in regard to wearing fly plaids that I want to respond to as it has become a bit of "thing" with our organization. So here goes.

I am the Director of Operations for the Clan Colquhoun International Society. Our Executive Director and I have been doing this for 8+ years and were quite distressed to find that we really had no idea what the protocol of wearing a fly plaid involved. He is currently in Scotland prepping for a multi-clan event we will be holding there. Also, some of our members will be attending the inauguration of the new Buchanan Clan Chief in October. This is what he was told:

In Scotland the wearing of a fly plaid is taken much more seriously than in the US. It designates a person as being the “head or chief” of a clan, or an organization. It’s not just to dress up a kilt outfit. i.e. It’s appropriate for our Ex. Director to wear one when attending events we put on where our clan chief is not present. It’s not appropriate if Sir Malcolm (our clan chief) is present. Regarding the Buchanan inauguration, he needs permission from Sir Michael Buchanan to wear one to that event.
    My husband has only worn his once and that was to an event we held in Florida several years ago, and all this explains why he got an odd look from Sir Malcolm at the time. He found it to be a bit of a bother to wear, and I have since made a Christmas decoration out of it. LOL. In the US guys put together all sorts of combinations of kilt attire and for the most part, no one seems to care, but I would be much more careful when attending events in Scotland. I hope this is helpful.