X Marks the Scot - An on-line community of kilt wearers.

X Marks Partners - (Go to the Partners Dedicated Forums )
USA Kilts website Celtic Croft website Celtic Corner website Houston Kiltmakers

User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Historical Perspectives on Handfasting

The topic of handfasting has come up several places here on the forum. I recently saw this article on a social media feed. It provides some interesting historical perspective on the practice of handfasting. https://scotlandsgreateststory.wordp...g-eBL33drPBSzM
    "Cuimhnich air na daoine o'n d'thaining thu"
    Remember the men from whom you are descended.

Mentioned
    15 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    There are several "hornets nests" that could be stirred up here. I have no interest in the religious aspect here, I am no legal expert and I have never seen hand fasting done, in Scotland or anywhere else and I know nothing about it.

So with my "cards in plain sight on the table" for all to see and I have absolutely no axe to grind on this subject whatsoever.

However, the thought does occur to me and let us just take Scottish laws of today as the example, so my question is:-

Is this ceremony of" hand fasting" regarded as a legally binding form of marriage in a Court of Law in Scotland, today?
    Last edited by Jock Scot; 15th August 23 at 02:00 PM.
    " Rules are for the guidance of wise men and the adherence of idle minds and minor tyrants". Field Marshal Lord Slim.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    No way intending to stir the pot. As far as I know, it is not legally binding today. (This from a friend in the Shetlands.) Our resident Scots might be able to add to this. It seems it is for romantic historical appearance only. As a minister, I have had many request for this with the assumption it was binding as is. Customs and traditions are interesting however.