X Marks the Scot - An on-line community of kilt wearers.

X Marks Partners - (Go to the Partners Dedicated Forums )
USA Kilts website Celtic Croft website Celtic Corner website Houston Kiltmakers

User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Jacobite era kilt hose - knitted or sewn ?

Hello all !
    I have a question about kilt hose of the 1740 Jacobite era ....
    Those who could afford hose, did they only have hose sewn from tartan fabric ? Or did knitted hose in that period already existed ?
    Thank you in advance for any information !
    Smallpipe

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I have no historical knowledge about socks in Scotland but Mr Google says archaeologists have found a knitted sock dating back to 1500BC in Denmark, so I'd expect they also existed in Scotland.
    Descendant of Malones from Cork and O’Higgins from Wicklow

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The painting John Michael Wright's portrait of Lord Mungo Murray about 1680 seems to show a seam on the back of his right leg. While it could be a knitted seam, it is more likely a seam in cut cloth. I did reenactments of the period you are interested in back in '70s and '80s and that was the best we could come up with from images. I have no way of knowing whether cut cloth for hose at that time was a heavier weave.

The National Museum of Scotland used to have a reprint of the clothing of John Hynde Cotton, whose trews are in their collection. I have misplaced my copy to check, but my reconstruction has a seam down the back as well.

I'm not aware of any other paintings that show a seam detail.
    "There is no merit in being wet and/or cold and sartorial elegance take second place to common sense." Jock Scot

Victoria, BC Canada 48° 25' 47.31"N 123° 20' 4.59" W
    Mentioned
    16 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)