X Marks the Scot - An on-line community of kilt wearers.

X Marks Partners - (Go to the Partners Dedicated Forums )
USA Kilts website Celtic Croft website Celtic Corner website Houston Kiltmakers

User Tag List

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Selecting another kilt, long, need help

Let me try this agian, and I genuinly would appreciate your thoughts.

I am new to wearing the kilt, but I do like it and would like to wear one more often. This is where the trouble begins. I have a custom 8 yard that I have and wear for weddings, dinners etc. While I have worn it to the office, it is not a good subsitute for khakis. And, it is definantly to much for ballgames or outdoor outings with my kids. So, I need, ok I want, another kilt or two for dailey wear. Then I start to look.
    I am not fond of the solids, just think it is less a kilt and more an alternative to a kilt, most likely reflects the impressions that have been made on me by the few Scots I know. Certainly not an indictment to anyone who owns or wears on, just my personal taste.
    I am not opposed to different materials, so long as they look good and hold up. I don't iron my own pants or shirts anymore, but would be more careful with a kilt.
    There are some great buys for off the rack klits in wool & mixed fibres. But, they are all 24-25 inch drop. I am not tall enough to wear more than 22 and look better in 21. We have discussed some of the kiltmakers that make a 4-5 yard casual in wool and they are as reasonable as the custom length casuals in PV or mixed fibre.
    I have seen a couple of really good buys on second hand stuff on ebay, just don't want to wait another year hoping someone my size pops up. I have seen some decent stuff as ex hire/rental. But apparantly those guys are not vertically challanged either.